Jean-Claude Laprie Award

About the Jean-Claude Laprie Award

The Jean-Claude Laprie Award in Dependable Computing is awarded annually since 2012 by the IFIP Working Group 10.4 on Dependable Computing and Fault Tolerance in his honor. The award recognizes outstanding papers that have significantly influenced the theory and/or practice of Dependable Computing.

It takes the form of a memorial plaque presented to the author(s) at the Annual IEEE/IFIP International Conference on Dependable Systems and Networks (DSN).

Eligibility and Selection Criteria

Any paper relating to dependable and secure computing, and published at least 10 years prior to the award year (e.g., 2008 or earlier for the 2018 award) is eligible for the award.

The award seeks to recognize papers that have had a significant impact in the intervening years in one or more of the three following categories:

  1. Technical/scientific research impact
  2. Industrial/commercial product impact
  3. Broad impact on the dependable computing community

Exceptionally, the award may be given to more than one paper.

Nominations are due on December 15, 2017. For complete information on nomination please visit Here

For 2018, the award committee decided to recognize one seminal paper in the award’s impact category Technical/scientific research:

* Avizienis, A., & Chen, L. (1977). On the implementation of N-version programming for software fault tolerance during execution. Proc. COMPSAC, 1977, 149-155.

Citations and complete information on the award can be found on the award web page: